Baroque On BeaverClassical Music on Island Time

BIPAA Logo TRANSPARENT

 
Erika Morrison

Erika Morrison (2019)

Vocalist

What are your most important educational and musical moments?
After my father passed, I was largely out of music and focused on 9-5 office work out of necessity.  I did perform with the Indianapolis Opera, but this was not full-time.  There were two musical moments in my life that brought me back to focusing on being a vocalist: 1) moving to the Chicagoland area and promptly thereafter meeting my husband, and 2) meeting Maestro Robert Nordling.

My husband, Ryan, is a bass vocal and has been very supportive and knowledgeable about getting into the music scene.  His support and co-parenting have allowed me to pursue my passion.  Additionally, Maestro Nordling has also been very supportive of me and enlisted my voice with the Lake Forest Civic Orchestra, as well as Baroque on Beaver.

Tell us about your family.
My husband and I have two beautiful children: Charlotte (12) and Leo (9).  We are also parents to a hound-mix named Major Tom (named after David Bowie) and a ginger cat named Mustard. 

Why did you choose music?
It’s in the genes!  I was surrounded by music since birth…actually, since prior to birth as my mother went into labor with me while singing.  Both of my parents were vocalists – my mother was a lyric coloratura and my father was a lyric bass.  In addition, my mother was a voice teacher and my father was the high school choir director (and the high school defensive linebacker coach!).  One could say that I did not choose music as a career…it chose me.

Why did you choose your instrument?
Certainly, being born to vocalists played a role.  However, I tried my hand at playing the baritone horn in 5th grade.  Although I enjoyed the instrument, I did not enjoy the need to carry it around.  Additionally, by my 13th birthday I had a full voice so I was encouraged to pursue vocal performance.  This led me to Indiana State University where I received my Bachelor of Music Performance.

What else are you currently doing?
Full-time, I am the CEO of my household.  Part-time, I wear several hats as the section leader at a large church, as a free-lance performer, working for the local parks department where I live and working at a food rescue co-op.  I also have experience as a plus-size model (and would like to do more modeling work), and have previously worked for many years in the fields of mental health and developmental disabilities.

Any non-musical interests or hobbies?
I am a big thrift shopper.  In lockstep with this hobby is my love of free-cycling, recycling, and looking for other ways to reduce my carbon footprint.  My children are my main interests, however, and they keep me very busy.  A couple of fun facts about me: I have gone to two Star Trek conventions and have seen the “Rocky Horror Picture Show” 86 times!

Scroll to Top