About Baroque

Each year, over the last weekend of July and the first weekend of August, the Baroque on Beaver Festival presents world-class orchestral, chamber, and vocal performances on the most remote inhabited island of the Great Lakes. In 2021 the Festival celebrates 20 years of bringing classical music to Beaver Island. Baroque on Beaver is the signature event of the Beaver Island Cultural Arts Association (BICAA).

Mission: BICAA is a non-profit group of volunteers and professionals. As one of Michigan’s premier promoters of the arts, the BICAA seeks to use its expertise to:

– Serve the Beaver Island community by promoting and supporting the cultural arts

– Offer a broad range of high quality performing and visual arts programs and activities

– Develop and encourage enjoyment and participation in the arts by residents, students, and visitors


Ensembles of the Baroque on Beaver Festival

The Festival Orchestra
The centerpiece of the festival is composed of professional performers from Michigan (Grand Rapids Symphony, Michigan Opera Theatre, Ann Arbor Symphony, West Michigan Symphony, Midland Symphony, Traverse Symphony), the Great Lakes region (Indianapolis Symphony, South Bend Symphony, Fort Wayne Philharmonic), the United States, and worldwide.

The Festival Chorus
Singers from Michigan and beyond join to create the Festival Chorus, which features its own concert and appears with the Baroque on Beaver Festival Orchestra to perform major works for chorus and orchestra.

Chamber ensembles feature prominently throughout the week at Baroque on Beaver, with performances by string quartets, woodwind quintets, brass quintet, and other mixed ensembles.

Festival Orchestra

Robert Nordling (2010)
Music Director and Principal Conductor

First Violin
James Crawford (2017), Concertmaster
David Reimer (2013), Assistant Concertmaster
Adam Liebert (2016)
Sponsored by Bob Sramek
Connie Markwick (2010)

Second Violin
Jenna Buchner (2015), Principal
Sponsored by Sharon & Louis Nemser
Abderrahman Anzaldua (2013)
Batya MacAdam-Somer (2016)
Kimia Ghaderi (2021)

Michael Hall (2014), Principal
Sponsored by Robert & Lois Nordling Sr.
Arturo Ziraldo (2021)
Kim Teachout (2018)
Nicholas Jeffrey (2021)

Andrea Yun (2013), Principal
Sponsored by Island Airways –
Paul & Angel Welke
Andrew Plaisier (2021)
Elizabeth Bert (2010)
Zachary Boyt (2011)

Mark Buchner (2015), Principal
Robert Johnson (2017)

Leslie Deppe (2009), Principal
Sponsored by Fresh Air Aviation –
Rachel & Keith Teague
Laura Schipper (2011)

Jennet Ingle (2020), Principal
Sponsored by Jim Gavelek & Taffy Raphael
in memory of Jean B. Raphael
Mezraq Ramli (2018)

Andrew Sprung (2018), Principal
Sponsored by Emily Ruddell
Steve Landane (2009)
Sam Martin (2021)

Mark Ortwein (2019), Principal
Sponsored by Myles & Sally Rehkopf
Deanna Erwin (2013)

Kurt Civilette (2015), Principal
Lisa Honeycutt (2005)

Pamela Smitter (2021), Principal
Matt Taton (2015)
Jeff Markwick (2016)

Joseph Radtke (2012), Principal
Sponsored by Paul & Anne Glendon
Christian Gilbert (2016)
Stefan Stolarchuk (2018)

Jerry Young (2021), Principal
Sponsored by Erin Motel –
Kim & Bill Battle

Dorothy Vogel (2018), Principal

Timothy Mocny (2011), Principal
Kramer Milan (2018)

Elizabeth Wooster Colpean (2021)

On Leave
Elizabeth Brown (2016)
Tony Bush (2021)
Dilek Engin-Stolarchuk (2014)
Ann Schoelles (2011)
Marla Smith (2011)

Festival Chorus

Kevin Simons (2009), Choral Director
Sarah Todd (2016), Accompanist

Barb Almli (2011)
Karen Albert (2019)
Peter Amster (2006)
Thaddaeus Bourne (2019), section leader
Karen Cook (2019), section leader
Matthew Cook (2021)
Peg Curley (2018)
Annette Dashiell (2002)
Maureen Delaney-Lehman (2014)
Bradley Fergin (2011)
Rachelle Austin Fergin (2010)
Jeanne Howell (2002)
John Jansson (2019)


Jack Kelly (2003)
Tammey Kikta (2010)
Jonathon Lovegrove (2019), section leader
Lisa Mays (2016)
Erika Lawson-Morrison (2019), section leader
Sponsored by Peter Amster & Frank Galati
Steven Naylor (2018)
Louis Nemser (2019)
Jeanne Petersen (2014)
Imogen Rhodenhiser (2021)
James Rhodenhiser (2013)

Don Taylor (2009)
Pierce Tyndall (2021)
Tiffany Wika (2018)

Chamber ensembles

Beaver Island String Quartet

James Crawford, violin
Jenna Buchner, violin
Michael Hall, viola
Andrea Yun, cello

Beaver Island Brass Quintet

Pamela Smitter, trumpet
Matt Taton, trumpet
Lisa Honeycutt, horn
Joe Radtke, trombone
Jerry Young, tuba

Emerald Isle Woodwind Quintet

Leslie Deppe, flute
Jennet Ingle, oboe
Andrew Sprung, clarinet
Kurt Civilette, horn
Mark Ortwein, bassoon

Donegal Bay Woodwind Quintet

Laura Schipper, flute
Mezraq Ramli, oboe
Steve Landane, clarinet
Lisa Honeycutt, horn
Deanna Erwin, bassoon


Festival Staff


Matthew Thomas

Music Director and Principal Conductor
Robert Nordling

Choral Director
Kevin Simons

Operations Director
John Van Patten

Audio Engineer
Ryan Wert

Music Librarian
Laura Schipper

Piano Technician
William Schneider

Executive Director
Matthew Thomas

Tamara McDonough

Vice Chair
Peter Amster

Sally Rehkopf

Terry Hodges

Anne Glendon

Louis Post

Taffy Raphael

Emily Ruddell

William Schneider

Beverly Seiford

Lois Stipp

Contact Us